A Story about Deadline

“Journalist: a person without any ideas but with an ability to express them; a writer whose skill is improved by a deadline: the more time he has, the worse he writes.”

          -Karl Kraus-

When I read that quote for the first time, I laughed. “It’s true!” I said. 

I’m not a newspaper journalist so I don’t experience crazy deadline but I understand that “skill is improved by a deadline” part. Usually, I have three days to finish an article and the process goes like the following.

Day I

I interview. After that I’m like, “I still have a lot of time. I’ll write the article tomorrow. I’m still tired from that interview.”

Day II

I try to write the article. After writing a few sentences, I read the sentences again and I’m like, “This is terrible. I can’t even stand reading an article that’s written like this.” Then, I think, “I guess I should take a rest and maybe I can find the proper sentence later.”

Day III

Few hours before deadline, even an hour before deadline, I can write well and the article is fine.

Note: I don’t promote procrastination. I just share my experience. Note again: I decide to give this post a pingback to Twenty Somethings Edition 1.

8 thoughts on “A Story about Deadline

  1. Thanks for submitting two posts to Twenty Somethings 🙂

    So who do you write articles for and what are they about?

    • You’re welcome.
      That’s a difficult question.
      The readers of my blog(s) are people whom either I don’t know at all in real life or I know quite well.
      The articles are about many things: medicine, language, random information I find, and my experience so I guess I write them for people who are interested in any of those things.

  2. Pingback: Journalists I Met | masihbersambung

Leave a Reply

